Species Requiring a Licence

The following is a list of species you need a Fish & Game licence to fish or hunt in New Zealand.

Sports Fish:

The Freshwater Fisheries Regulations 1983 Schedule 1 defines the following species as “sports fish”:

  • Brown trout (Salmo trutta):
  • Rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss, formerly known as Salmo gairdneri):
  • American brook trout or char (Salvelinus fontinalis):
  • Lake trout or char (Salvelinus namaycush):
  • Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar):
  • Quinnat or chinook salmon (Oncorhynchus tshawytscha):
  • Sockeye salmon (Oncorhynchus nerka):
  • Perch (Perca fluviatilis):
  • Tench (Tinca tinca):
  • Rudd (Scardinius erythrophthalmus) found or taken in the Auckland Acclimatisation District—

and includes any hybrid and the young, fry, ova, and spawn, and any part of any such fish; but does not include salmon preserved in cans and imported into New Zealand.